Home > About Voysey > Buildings > The Pastures

The Pastures, North Luffenham, Rutland

Date: 1901

Client: Miss G.C. Conant

Listing: Grade II*

 
The Pastures

Pevsner's Leicestershire & Rutland (with Elizabeth Williamson, 1984) says:

PASTURES HOUSE, formerly The Pastures, S of this on the road to Morcott. By CFA Voysey, 1901, for Miss G Conant. A charming composition on three sides of a quadrangle. A small but spreading house. Only two reception rooms facing S but service rooms and stables, coach house, etc., in longer narrow wings to the W and N respectively. The stable range is one-storeyed, the other two have the bedrooms on the upper floor lit by dormers, weatherboarded on the W side. Close to the junction of the W and N ranges a tower with clock and bell and saddleback roof. At the R end of the N range a half-timbered gable. The S front has a sturdier picturesque irregularity. A motif which occurs here, a porch-like loggia with a wide semi-circular arch, has often been imitated later by suburban builders. To its R a deep square two-storeyed bay added in 1909 when the chimneys were faced in stone. Voysey would have preferred stone throughout but substituted render with stone window surrounds. Interior unaltered structurally (the stair with its typical screen of close-set posts and the original doors are still there) but many of the fittings have gone, eg the settles from the dining room ingle, the fireplaces with metal hoods and coloured tiles. Faintly classical features in both main rooms. The flagged paths, pergolas, and most of the yew hedges have gone from the garden Voysey designed. So has the dovecote from the service yard and a sundial (moved to Lyndon Hall).


Page last amended 4th August 2021