Home > About the Society > Officers

Officers of the Society

Honorary posts


Photograph of John BryanJohn H. Bryan III

A businessman and an avid collector of English Arts & Crafts and early English furniture and decorative arts. He is President of The Crab Tree Farm Foundation, Inc., which supports education and exhibition of English and American Arts & Crafts furniture, textiles, and decorative arts.

Honorary President

Photograph of Ian HamertonProfessor Ian Hamerton

Chair in Polymers and Composite Materials in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Bristol. Former chairman and long-serving council member of the Society for the Arts & Crafts Movement in Surrey (ACMS). Principal author and editor of WAS Benson : Arts and Crafts luminary and pioneer of modern design (Antique Collectors' Club, 2005).

Honorary Vice-Presidents

Photograph of Wendy HitchmoughDr Wendy Hitchmough

Senior Lecturer in the Art History Department at the University of Sussex, formerly Head of Historic Buildings and Research at Historic Royal Palaces. Art historian specialising in the art, architecture and design of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Author of seven books including C.F.A. Voysey (Phaidon, 1995), The Arts and crafts home (Pavilion, 2000), and Arts and crafts gardens (V&A, 2005).


Photograph of Mike DudaMichael Duda

Retired corporate treasurer and corporate recovery specialist. Former chairman of The Winsford Trust (previous owner of the Winsford Cottage Hospital). Lover of architecture, and of all things Italian, especially art, architecture and food!


[Councillors marked with (t) are also trustees of the charity.]


Photograph of Julie FlowerJulie Flower (t)

Leadership and team development consultant, facilitator and coach, specialising in government and the public and third sectors. MA in History (Cambridge), and MLitt in Art History (St Andrews), where her dissertation on the work of Baillie Scott and Lorimer was published under the title Two houses in Fife. Julie has recently completed an MSc in Coaching and Behavioural Change at Henley Business School, where she is now an external tutor on postgraduate programmes.


Photograph of Alastair Dick-ClelandAlastair Dick-Cleland (t)

Project Development Manager for the Landmark Trust responsible particularly for the selection of potential new buildings. Holds a BA in Experimental Psychology (Oxford), Diploma in Architecture and the Building Arts (Prince of Wales’s Institute of Architecture), and the RICS Postgraduate Diploma in Building Conservation (College of Estate Management).

Membership Secretary

Photograph of Hannah ButlinHannah Butlin (t)

Chartered Structural engineer at Alan Baxter Ltd. She takes a special interest in the engineering and conservation of historic buildings.

Publications Secretary

Photograph of David ColeDavid Cole (t)

Retired architect, design director with Australian based international architectural practice, designed commercial and civic projects throughout Australia, Asia and UAE. Arts and Crafts collector and enthusiast. Author of Art and architecture of CFA Voysey (2015) and Sir Edwin Lutyens: the Arts and Crafts houses (2017).

Events Secretaries

Photograph of Catherine SidwellDr Catherine Sidwell (t)

Design historian with experience as a curator and exhibitions and projects manager: V&A, Powerhouse Museum (Sydney) and British Museum. Following submission of her PhD thesis (Kingston University), she is now enjoying her new role as Senior Archivist at Sanderson Design Group.


Photograph of Nigel BeggNigel Begg (t)

Retired architect; parish councillor for Ansford (Somerset) and member of its neighbourhood planning group. Co-author of Converting old buildings into new homes (Crowood, 2010)


Photograph of Peter KingDr Peter King (t)

Retired university librarian.

Newsletter editor

Photograph of Christopher PancheriChristopher Pancheri

Retired architect from an Arts & Crafts background who continues to be inspired by the life and work of C.F.A. Voysey and his family.

Project Officer

Photograph of Mike SmithMike Smith (t)

Corporate career in people management within the building materials and social housing sectors; now runs several small businesses. Interested in architecture from a social history perspective but has long admired the architecture and wider work of the arts and crafts movement and joined the Society to learn some more!

Social media correspondents

Photograph of Tony PeartTony Peart (t)

Senior Lecturer in Graphic Design and Illustration at the University of Cumbria; painter and occasional craftsman. A passionate collector of the Arts & Crafts Movement for over 30 years, and holds a particular affection for the work of C.F.A. Voysey.


Photograph of Chris RycroftChris Rycroft

Lawyer and former academic and professional publisher; Philip Webb and Arts & Crafts architecture enthusiast; also keen on choral music, whodunnits, PG Wodehouse, country walks.

Council members

Photograph of George ButlinGeorge Butlin (t)

Interior designer, now retired, specialising in museums, galleries, theatres, and many international 5* hotels. Other passions include Alvis motor cars, Bedford Park (where he lives) and painting.


Photograph of Mike DudaRichard Havelock (t)

Qualified dentist. Former Clinical Director of NHS community dental services in Berkshire, and Medical Director of an NHS Trust. Now Governor of the Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust and chairman of its Medical Museum, and a volunteer at the National Trust’s Basildon Park. Has been fascinated by the life, work and context of CFA Voysey since seeing at the age of 12 a drawing of one of his houses. Interested also in music and art, especially of the 19th and 20th century.


Photograph of Charles LawrenceCharles Lawrence

Retired conservation architect. Historian of 1960s motorboats and archivist to the Fairey Owners' Club. He also serves on Southern Buildings Committee of the Victorian Society.


Photograph of Peter WhitePeter White (t)

Retired industrialist. F.T.I. C.TECH., F.C.I.M., F.R.S.A., F.B.I.T. Part owner of Moor Crag for over 30 years. Patron of Blackwell since its inception.

Page last amended 10th September 2023